SMU student clubs

The following is a current list of student clubs that reside under the four non-school CBds (ACF, SSU, SMUX and SICS):


ARTS CLUBS
A good number of SMU students have a passion for the arts as evidenced not only by the numerous arts CCA clubs but also by the quality and interest of these groups.

Many of these clubs perform regularly at university events, and are also invited to showcase their talents by external organisations. These arts groups reside under the Arts student Constituent Body, the Arts & Cultural Fraternity (ACF).

Ardiente promotes Latin Ballroom dancing.

ardiente@sa.smu.edu.sg
ARTdicted@SMU uses visual arts, including design, as a platform to reach out to the SMU community.
artdicted@sa.smu.edu.sg
Ballare is a club advocating standard Ballroom dance.
ballare@sa.smu.edu.sg
Caderas Latinas specialises in competitive and recreational Salsa dancing.
caderaslatinas@sa.smu.edu.sg
Eurhythmix is the dance club for Hip Hop enthusiasts. SMU Breakers, the breakdancing wing is a sub-club of Eurhythmix.
eurhythmix@sa.smu.edu.sg
Film Society welcomes aspiring scriptwriters, directors and critics as well as movie-lovers.
smufs@sa.smu.edu.sg
Funk Movement caters to those with a passion for dancing to funk and disco music. funkmovement@sa.smu.edu.sg
Guitarissimo consists of a classical guitar ensemble, a Niibori guitar group and the Guitarissimo band.
guitarissimo@sa.smu.edu.sg
InDanCity provides avenues for expression in Contemporary and Modern Dance.
indancity@sa.smu.edu.sg
Indian Cultural Society (ICS) explores India’s rich 3,000 year old culture.
ics@sa.smu.edu.sg
Ivory Keys actively promotes classical piano music appreciation by performing both solo and 4-hand works.
ivorykeys@sa.smu.edu.sg
Literati is a club for literature lovers and provides a platform for literary expression.
literati@sa.smu.edu.sg
Malay Language & Cultural Club (MLCC) promotes traditional Malay expressions through the visual and performancing arts.
mlcc@sa.smu.edu.sg
Music Interactive Club (MIC) spreads the passion of singing to the SMU community.
mic@sa.smu.edu.sg
Samba Masala plays Brazilian samba batucada music fused with funk, afrobeat and local ethnic rhythms.
samba@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Broadcast & Entertainment (SMUBE) comprises Campus Radio, Campus TV, Artiste Management Team as well as Events & Backstage crew.
smube@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Chamber Choir provides choral expression opportunities for those serious about singing.
chamberchoir@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Chinese Orchestra (SMUCO) plays both classical and contemporary chinese music
smuco@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Komunitas Indonesia (SMUKI) creates a greater awareness of the Indonesian culture, people and country.
smuki@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMUSAIC is a club with a passion for photography, visual literacy and photographic education.
smusaic@sa.smu.edu.sg
SoundFoundry is where all the indie bands in SMU meet and jam regularly, playing music from Jazz to Rock.
soundfoundry@sa.smu.edu.sg
StageIT is SMU’s theatre group.
stageit@sa.smu.edu.sg
Stereometa is digital music creation club and they also spin music for various SMU events
stereometa@sa.smu.edu.sg
Symphonia is SMU’s resident wind symphonic group, playing music ranging from classical transcriptions to original wind music
symphonia@sa.smu.edu.sg
Voix is SMU’s a cappella group whose repertoire ranges from pop and ballads to swing and jazz.
smuvoix@sa.smu.edu.sg

 

SPORTS & ADVENTURE CLUBS
There are two Constituent Bodies (CBds) looking after the Sports & Adventure Clubs - SMU Sports Union (SSU), which oversees the recreational and competitive sports clubs, and SMU Xtremists (SMUX) which takes care of the seven extreme sports clubs.

The Office of Student Life, together with the sports CBds, provide development, enrichment and enjoyment for students through a wide variety of sports and recreational co-curricular activities. Students are also encouraged to participate in competitions, such as the Institute-Varsity-Polytechnic (IVP) Games, National Championships, Regional and International Games.

Aikido is a non-violent and non-competitive martial art.
aikido@sa.smu.edu.sg
Aquathlon is SMU’s sole multisport CCA that brings together the endurance disciplines of swimming and running into a lifestyle sport.
aquathlon@sa.smu.edu.sg
Aquatic Sharks is SMU’s swimming and water-polo club.
aquaticsharks@sa.smu.edu.sg
Archery trains archers in the ancient art and skill of marksmanship.
archery@sa.smu.edu.sg
Badminton, one of the more popular racket games in Asia.
badminton@sa.smu.edu.sg
Basketball — Inspired by Michael Jordan, Shaquille O'Neal or Yao Ming? Join Basketball!
basketball@sa.smu.edu.sg
Bowling — for recreation or competition.
bowling@sa.smu.edu.sg

Capoeira — Brazillian self-defence sport.

capoeira@sa.smu.edu.sg
Climb Team, now trains at our spanking new two-storey-high rock climbing wall in the Sports Hall.
climb@sa.smu.edu.sg
Cricket, a battling game that requires good hand-eye coordination.
cricket@sa.smu.edu.sg
Dragonboat derives greatness from team commitment, perserverance and strength.
smudragonboat@sa.smu.edu.sg
Fencing Club is a way for you to get to know how Zorro feels when he holds his saber/foil.
fencing@sa.smu.edu.sg
Flare is SMU's cheerleading and gymnastics team.
flare@sa.smu.edu.sg
Floorball is played with five players and a goalkeeper; a plastic curved stick and ball, and is similar to hockey.
smufloorball@sa.smu.edu.sg
Golf, is a sport that requires much patience and precision.
golfclub@sa.smu.edu.sg
Handball is a fast-paced sport that combines elements of basketball and football.
smuhandball@sa.smu.edu.sg
Judo recruits those with a disciplined spirit to bring out the best in each individual through the practice of this martial art.
judo@sa.smu.edu.sg
Karate is a relatively new sport at SMU but it has already won medals in the tertiary competitions.
karate@sa.smu.edu.sg
Kendo is the modern martial art of Japanese fencing, developed from traditional techniques of Japanese swordsmanship known as kenjutsu.
kendo@sa.smu.edu.sg
Muay Thai or Thai Boxing is a popular martial art where members can join on a competitive basis or simply to maintain their level of fitness.
muaythai@sa.smu.edu.sg
Netball is a team sport which requires agility, endurance, tactics, ball-handling skills and teamwork.
netball@sa.smu.edu.sg
Pencak Silat is a Southeast Asian martial art with roots in the Malay culture.
silat@sa.smu.edu.sg
Pool — like snooker and billards, this is an indoor sport that requires much precision.
poolclub@sa.smu.edu.sg
Rugby Team — only for the physically fit!
rugby@sa.smu.edu.sg
RunTeam — for all those interested in running, either competitively or for leisure.
smu_runteam@sa.smu.edu.sg
Sailing — SMU's Sailing team, now in association with Raffles Marina Ltd, has participated in national and international competitions.
sailing@sa.smu.edu.sg
Shooting Club requires a keen eye and a steady hand to hit targets.
smushooting@sa.smu.edu.sg
Soccer (Men) consists of avid soccer players who participate in the annual IVP Games.
smusoccer@sa.smu.edu.sg
Soccer (Women) spreads the soccer spirit and promotes the sport to ladies.
womensoccer@sa.smu.edu.sg
Softball is a direct descendent of baseball.   
softball@sa.smu.edu.sg
Squash — a fast-paced sport played in an enclosed court.
squash@sa.smu.edu.sg
Table Tennis requires not only skill but precise hand-eye coordination.
tabletennis@sa.smu.edu.sg
Taekwondo is a martial art which trains both body and mind, through the spirit of fair play.
smutkd@sa.smu.edu.sg
Tennis, another very popular racket sport that can be played competitively or just for recreation.
tennis@sa.smu.edu.sg
Touch Football (Women) is similar to traditional rugby, without the tackling aspect. touchfootball@sa.smu.edu.sg
Track & Field is a compulsory sport at all major sports competitions.
tracknfield@sa.smu.edu.sg
Ultimate Frisbee, which involves "disc throwing", is a retro sport that is making a big comeback. smuufc@sa.smu.edu.sg
Volleyball — with six aside, this court game involves sets, spikes, serves and lots of team coordination.
volleyball@sa.smu.edu.sg
Wakeboarding is a cross between water-skiing, snowboarding and surfing.
wakeboarders@sa.smu.edu.sg
Windsurfing or boardsailing, is a combination of surfing and sailing, and is all about speed and radical moves.
windsurfing@sa.smu.edu.sg
Wushu — the art of Chinese self-defence. wushu@sa.smu.edu.sg
7 Adventure Clubs under SMU Xtremists
 
SMUX Biking Team caters to the needs of both new cyclists and regular bikers. We organised events of different levels of difficulty.
biking@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMUX Diving Team promotes the outdoors by giving you the opportunity to dive into the deep blue waters of Pulau Tioman, Pulau Dayang and Pulau Aur, just to name a few.
diving@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMUX Skating Team promotes the sport of in-line skating. skating@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMUX Kayaking Team organises kayak expeditions and white-water rafting trips.
kayaking@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMUX Trekking Team organises trekking trips both locally or overseas, ususally to Malaysia.
trekking@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMUX Horse Riding Club promotes the equestrian sport.
horseriding@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMUX Xseed Team is always looking to introduce new activities to the SMU student community such as horse-riding, cable-skiing, ice-skating or sky-diving.
xseed@sa.smu.edu.sg

 

SPECIAL INTEREST & COMMUNITY SERVICE CLUBS
The clubs under the Special Interest and Community Service Sodality (SICS) cater to a wide range of varied interests, including food, wine, board gaming, recreational fishing, mixed martial arts, and also professional development skills such as public speaking, debating and social enterprise. Our community service clubs engage in both short- and long-term projects, reaching out to a range of beneficiaries that include disadvantaged children, troubled teens, the elderly and the disabled.

Special Interest Clubs

AIESEC, the world's largest student organisation, is the international platform for young people to discover and develop their potential so as to have a positive impact on society.
aiesec@sa.smu.edu.sg
People for Animal Welfare (PAW) raises awareness about animal abuse and promotes responsible pet ownership.
paw@sa.smu.edu.sg
Recreational Gaming Club is SMU's inaugural social table-gaming club, where friendships are forged among students with a common passion in Mahjong, Poker and Contract Bridge.
recregaming@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Barworks imparts liquor knowledge and bartending skills to students who are passionate in the art of cocktail mixing. From there, members can stretch their imagination to create special cocktails to call their own!
barworks@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Conjunct Consulting is Asia’s pioneering non-profit consultancy, delivering advice on strategic social change to maximise the impact of social sector organisations. Members are mentored by skilled professionals to provide social sector organisations with pro bono consulting services, empowering the sector with strategy and leaders. smuconjunct@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Debating Society aims to expose and train students to debate ideas and arguments coherently and logically in the English language.
smuds@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU E-Sports is a club that gives members who have a keen interest in casual and competitive gaming a platform for social gaming gatherings and participate in competitive gaming. smuesports@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU FitnessWorks organises fitness classes as well as health and nutrition talks for the SMU community. fitnessworks@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Gourmet Club brings food appreciation to a new level by dishing out exciting culinary experiences for SMU at its events and sharing these experiences with others through its publications. gourmet@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Initiative for Social Enterprise (SMU-ISE) engages its members in learning and applying business principles and skills to tackle social problems through outreach projects. smuise@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Mindsports caters to students who want to play International Chess, Chinese Chess, or Weiqi at a competitive level or recreationally.
mindsports@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Mixed Martial Arts (SMU MMA) aims to be a comfortable and accessible avenue for the SMU community to learn and excel in the sport of mixed martial arts, both in the recreational and competitive domain.
smumma@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Real Business strives to encourage student entrepreneurship for both aspiring and seasoned entrepreneurs.
smurealbusiness@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Recreational Fishing is a club for all fishing enthusiasts to come together and share their fishing experiences and tips. smurf@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Toastmasters helps students learn how to express themselves confidently, clearly and effectively in front of audiences. smutm@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Verts promotes environmental conservation through awareness campaigns and partnering with environmentally-passionate students to engage the SMU community. smuverts@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Wine Appreciation Club actively provide wine-enthusiasts in SMU a platform to share their knowledge and interest in wine.
smuwa@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Women's Connection seeks to enrich women's lives through workshops, talks and networking sessions that are in line with women's interests. swc@sa.smu.edu.sg
Strategica is a club set for students with a special interest in board games. Members can meet up and bond with each other while playing board games.
strategica@sa.smu.edu.sg
United Nations Students’ Association (UNSA – SMU) raises members’ awareness of issues such as peace, human rights, respect for international law, social progress and freedom through participation in Model United Nations Conferences. unsa-smu@sa.smu.edu.sg

Community Service Clubs

SMU Caretalyst helps students become social entrepreneurs, humanitarian workers and caring citizens, effecting positive social transformation through the synergistic collaboration of business enterprises, community groups and individuals.
caretalyst@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU BP Mentoring encourages individuals to act as mentors to youth who need that "extra helping hand".
smu_mentoring@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Habitat for Humanity is the first campus chapter in Singapore of international non-profit organisation Habitat for Humanity with the aim of creating a world where every child has a decent place to live in.

smuhabitat@sa.smu.edu.sg

SMU Red Cross Youth Chapter is part of the Red Cross Humanitarian Network, and promotes interactions with other tertiary chapters.
redcross@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Rotaract Club is a youth development club that emphasises on service, networking and fellowship.
smurotaract@sa.smu.edu.sg
SMU Uni-Y works closely with the YMCA of Singapore to provide local and international programmes for SMU students and creates opportunities for leadership.
uniymca@sa.smu.edu.sg


INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS
Apart from the above clubs, international students have a choice to join a club which the Students Association oversees administratively:

International Connections (ICON) celebrates cultural diversity by helping to integrate international students with the SMU community.

icon@sa.smu.edu.sg

 

Last updated on 29 Jul 2014.